When I was a kid my favorite cereal was Post’s Alpha-Bits.   I spent hours trying to find all the little cereal letters to spell my name in the bowl on the breakfast table.   Some days I had success and others were dismal failures with nothing but vowels, P’s, Q’s and X’s.   These days when trying to better  understand the complexities of business continuity certifications, I revert back to that alphabet soup that was in my cereal bowl.

Credit: continuitysa.com

Credentialing Organizations

Today business continuity professionals have several options when looking to obtain business continuity certifications.  There are many credentialing organizations with various training and testing programs, each with their own experience requirements and continuing education point systems.


In alphabetic order, the major credentialing organizations are:

  • BCI – The Business Continuity Institute
  • BRCCI – Business Resilience Certification Consortium International
  • DRII – DRI International
  • ICOR – International Consortium for Organizational Resilience

The Business Continuity Institute  (http://www.thebcicertificate.org/index.html)

The Business Continuity Institute was founded in 1994 and is headquartered in the United Kingdom.   They have a membership scheme of credentialing for their association.  You can pass the BCI certification exam or you can pass with merit.  The level of passing the exam and your experience in the business continuity field will determine the level at which you can be a member of the professional association.  Please see their website for specific requirements for each level.  The BCI certification levels are:

  • AMBCI – Associate Member BCI
  • SBCI – Specialist Member BCI
  • MBCI – Member BCI
  • FBCI – Fellowship Member BCI

Business Resilience Certification Consortium International   (http://www.brcci.org/)

BRCCI is an open non-profit international business resilience certification body and association that emphasizes business continuity and enterprise risk management to develop business resiliency.  They have varying levels of membership and certification.  Anyone who is interested in business resiliency is able to join the association at an associate level without taking an exam.  The BRCCI certification levels are:

  • Associate of BRCCI
  • CBRS – Certified Business Resiliency Specialist
  • CBRM – Certified Business Resiliency Manager
  • CBRA –  Certified Business Resiliency Auditor
  • MABR – Masters Achievement in Business Resiliency

DRI International  (https://www.drii.org/)

DRI International was founded in 1988 and is headquartered in Conway, Arkansas.    They provide business continuity training and certification.  Their certification levels require an exam, experience levels, and references.   The certifications available are:

  • ABCP – Associate Business Continuity Professional
  • CBCV – Certified Business Continuity Vendor
  • CFCP – Certified Functional Continuity Professional
  • CBCP – Certified Business Continuity Professional
  • MBCP – Master Business Continuity Professional

International Consortium for Organizational Resilience  (http://www.theicor.org)

International Consortium for Organization Resilience (ICOR) is a not-for-profit education and credentialing organization.  They have several levels of membership in the organization and many different certification programs all relating to organizational resilience.  The credentialing is based on education, experience, continuing education, certifications, authoring and public speaking.  Their credentialing levels are as follows:

  • CORA – Certified Organizational Resilience Associate
  • CORS  – Certified Organizational Resilience Specialist
  • CORM – Certified Organizational Resilience Manager
  • CORP – Certified Organizational Resilience Professional
  • CORE – Certified Organizational Resilience Executive

There are many options for business continuity certifications being offered to professionals today.

We have listed just a few of the major providers of credentialing and certification.  Please refer to the organization websites for all the details regarding the certification programs.

And, finally, please let us know of any additional certification bodies that need to be added to these lists.

Pin It on Pinterest