by: Sally Smoczynski, Contributing Writer

I just wanted to let you know that ISO has just issued a new update to the ISO/IEC 20000-1:2005 standard.  There is now a revised standard, ISO/IEC 20000-1:2011.  It is available for purchase at 

What does this mean for you???  

At this time, and if you have been already certified to the old version of the standard, your Service Management System is still valid!  In the near future, the Registrars will issue a transition plan that will require certified organizations to transition to the new requirements of the standard.  It is usually an 18 months transition period. 

I have highlighted a few of the changes for you to consider:

  1. The updated standard refers to a Service Management System instead of an IT Service Management System.
  2. Clauses 3 and 4 have been collapsed in to one clause and have been aligned with ISO 9001 and ISO 27001 requirement statements.
  3. There are additional definitions in the glossary.
  4. There is more clarification in most sections
ISO/IEC 20000-1:2005                                                              ISO/IEC 20000-1:2011
Clauses 3 & 4 have been merged into one Clause
Clause 3 Management Responsibility Clause 4 Service Management Responsibility
Clause 4 PDCA Service Management
Clause 5 has been expanded to a more ITIL based Service Design and Transition process
Clause 5 New or Changed Services Clause 5 Design and Transition of New or Changed Services
Clause 6 has added more clarification and expansion on requirements for each sub clause
Clause 7 has added additional guidance on supplier management
Clause 8 has included service request to incident management
Clause 8.2 Incident Management Clause 8.2 Incident and Service Request Management
Clause 9 has included Release and Deployment Management, Clause 10 is removed
Clause 10 Release Management Clause 9.3 Release and Deployment Management


I am certain that more will be written about these changes and their effects on organizations already certified to ISO.IEC 20000-1:2005 or those considering to become either in compliance with or certified to the new standard ISO/IEC 20000-2011 — so be watchful for those notices on this website or other websites dealing with this standard.

Photo courtesy of

Pin It on Pinterest