When you hear IT Service Management, most people associate the acronym ITIL with it.  ITIL (Information Technology Infrastructure Library) is a set of best practices to manage IT Services.   Enterprise organizations have spent many years striving to achieve ITIL success.  ITIL provides its guidance in a set of 5 books;

  • Service Strategy
  • Service Design
  • Service Transition
  • Service Operation
  • Continual Service Improvement

Through the guidance of ITIL, most organizations have been able to achieve a level of mature process for the delivery of critical IT Services; whether to their internal customers or external customers.  From a competitive standpoint, for both large and small organizations though, there is there is no way for an organization to prove ITIL competence beyond the confidence of existing customers. 

There are personal certifications for individuals to show ITIL competencies, but within ITIL, there is no “stamp of approval” for organizations.

There is, however, an ISO (International Organization of Standards) certification for IT Service Management with ISO/IEC 20000-1:2005.  This standard provides an ITIL lite set requirement along with the common Management System structure of Plan, Do, Check, Act (PDCA).

ISO 20000 – IT Service Management is a set of auditable requirements which ensure management participation and customer feedback.  The standard incorporates an overall compliance management framework and includes such critical areas as information systems security and looks at overall compliance risks to the delivery of the IT Services.

Following best practice (ITIL) and conforming to a recognized standard (ISO 20000) provides the evidence that IT services are meeting the highest standard of best practices and that mechanisms are in place to keep it that way.  Through the certification by a third party registrar, an organization is able to prove or certify their IT Service Management commitment.   

ISO/IEC 20000-1:2005 is to the organization what ITIL is to the operations. In today’s business climate, more than ever, suppliers of IT Services are being required to certify to ISO 20000 to keep existing clients or as a cost of entry to respond to new Requests for Proposals (RFPs).  This ITSM standard is a way to get the best of both best practice and continuous improvement and meet the certification requirements.

Pin It on Pinterest